CTL Staff

Directors

Harrison Keller

Executive Director and Vice Provost for Higher Education Policy and Research
harrison.keller@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-8277 MAI 201
Bio

Harrison Keller

Executive Director and Vice Provost for Higher Education Policy and Research

Ph.D

harrison.keller@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Harrison Keller is Vice Provost for Higher Education Policy and Executive Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning at The University of Texas at Austin.  He has worked with Texas state leaders developing and passing major education budget and policy proposals, and with state policymakers, foundations, and national policy organizations on public and higher education policy issues.  He is a state advisor for the Lumina Foundation for Education’s higher education productivity initiative. Dr. Keller earned a bachelors degree in philosophy with honors from the University of Notre Dame and a Master’s degree and Ph.D. from Georgetown University.

(512) 232-8277MAI 201

Julie Schell

Director of OnRamps and Strategic Initiatives
julie.schell@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1772 FAC 213Q
Bio

Julie Schell

Director of OnRamps and Strategic Initiatives

Ed.D

julie.schell@austin.utexas.edu

As Director of OnRamps and Strategic Initiatives, Julie leads institutional and statewide efforts to improve college student success, preparation, and excellence. She is an international expert in instructional innovation, specializing in blended and flipped learning. Before joining The University of Texas at Austin, Julie served as the senior educational researcher in the Mazur Group at the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University, where she also completed a postdoctoral fellowship. She has a doctorate in higher education from Teachers College, Columbia University, and a MS in Educational Psychology with an emphasis in instructional technology from the University of Nevada, Reno. Julie writes and presents extensively on innovative flipped classrooms across diverse contexts, including disciplines and geographic locations. She has a special interest in Peer Instruction, is the co-founder of the Peer Instruction Network, a global social network connecting innovative educators across the world and authors the official Peer Instruction blog, Turn to Your Neighbor, ranked in the top 100 educational blogs worldwide by USC Rossier's Teach100.

(512) 232-1772FAC 213Q

Staff

ALL
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | W

Siew Ang

Data Scientist
siew.ang@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-7580 FAC 213E

Rebecca Bohnert

Administrative Associate
rbohnert@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-7022 SZB 450D

Anne Braseby

Faculty Development Specialist
anne.braseby@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1774 FAC 213X
Bio

Anne Braseby

Faculty Development Specialist

Ph.D

anne.braseby@austin.utexas.edu

After teaching for 25 years, Anne joined the staff of CTL as a Faculty Development Specialist, working specifically with faculty to develop collaborative learning both inside and outside the classroom. She facilitates Faculty Learning Communities across the university campus that provide a rich and rewarding forum for faculty to learn with and from their peers. She develops and presents faculty workshops on many topics from designing student led outcomes to student engagement in the classroom. She obtained her Master’s degree from Boulder Colorado and her Ph.D. from Florida International University in Miami Florida.

(512) 232-1774FAC 213X

Katie Brock

Associate Director
katie.brock@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1757 SZB 450Q

Hank Cannon

Scanning Office Coordinator
hank.cannon@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 471-6508 GSB 2.130C

Laura Chrisco

Higher Education Policy Coordinator
laura.chrisco@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-7917 SZB 450R

Thereisa Coleman

Associate Director of Assessment
thereisa.coleman@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6626 GSB 2.130E

Stephanie Corliss

Educational Measurement & Assessment Specialist
stephanie.corliss@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1506 FAC 213Z
Bio

Stephanie Corliss

Educational Measurement & Assessment Specialist

Ph.D

stephanie.corliss@austin.utexas.edu

Stephanie B. Corliss is an Educational Measurement and Assessment Specialist at the CTL. She consults with faculty, staff, and administration and performs research related to teaching and learning to provide feedback to departments, colleges, and the university. Stephanie has been researching the use of instructional practices to enhance the teaching and learning experience for over twelve years.  She previously worked at the University of California, Berkeley, where she led professional development, research, and assessment efforts with teachers integrating technology-enhanced instruction into their curriculum.  Additionally, Dr. Corliss has taught educational psychology and instructional technology courses at the undergraduate and graduate level.  She has a Ph.D. in educational psychology focused on learning, cognition, and instruction and an MA in program evaluation from the University of Texas at Austin.

(512) 232-1506FAC 213Z

Tara Craig

OnRamps Coordinator
Tara.craig@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6161 FAC 213G

Holly Custard

Associate Director
hcustard@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-6124 FAC 213FF

Michael DeLeon

Media Coordinator, iTunes U Site Administrator
mdeleon@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6156 SZB 450K

Devon Donohue-Bergeler

Graduate Research Assistant
devon.donohue-bergeler@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6702 FAC 213

Pete Elam

Project Manager, Digital Media Institute Program Coordinator
peter.elam@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6365 FAC 213J

Denise Fitch

Administrative Assistant
dfitch@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2649 SZB 450U

Carlton Fong

Graduate Research Assistant
carlton.fong@austin.utexas.edu
FAC 213

Chad Fulton

Project Manager
chad@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2636 FAC 213B

Dena Grumbles

Administrative Services Officer II
grumbles@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2647 SZB 450V

Mario Guerra

Project Manager
mariog@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6347 FAC 213V

Leslie Hall

Project Manager
leslie.hall@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2645 FAC 213Y

Jessica Harbison

Administrative Associate
jessicah@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-9329 SZB 450T

Molly Hatcher

Post-Doctoral Fellow, GSI Program
molly.hatcher@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-5181 FAC 213W

Robbie Hilker

Scanning Office Assistant
robbie.hilker@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 471-6508 GSB 2.130C

Sue Jones

Information Technology Manager
sue.jones@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-3724 GSB 2.130F

Dee Kapila

Project Manager
dee.kapila@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6057 FAC 213T

Coco Kishi

Project Manager
kishi@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6050 FAC 213, SZB 450P

Cynthia Labrake

Coordinator of Faculty Initiatives
labrake@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-5847 FAC 213R

Liz Landeros

Senior Administrative Associate
l.landeros@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1778 SZB 450T

Karron Lewis

Associate Director for Instructional Consultation
kglewis@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1776 SZB 450S
Bio

Karron Lewis

Associate Director for Instructional Consultation

Ph.D

kglewis@austin.utexas.edu

Karron is Associate Director for Instructional Consultation where she mentors other CTL Instructional Consultants and consults one-to-one with faculty from all across the UT Campus.   She works with departments who are developing peer review strategies and conducts training for peer reviewers.  Karron has been involved in faculty and TA development at the University of Texas at Austin since 1978.  She has published and presented widely on faculty development strategies, individual consultation and interpreting student evaluation feedback.   Karron earned a B.M.Ed. (Bachelor of Music Education) from Texas Lutheran University and a Ph.D. in Educational Curriculum and Instruction from Texas A&M University.

(512) 232-1776SZB 450S

Jessica Lindley

Grants & Contracts Specialist
jessica.lindley@austin.utexas.edu
(503) 709-5950

Cynthia Louden

Educational Measurement and Assessment Specialist
cyndi.louden@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-8679 FAC 213P
Bio

Cynthia Louden

Educational Measurement and Assessment Specialist

Ph.D

cyndi.louden@austin.utexas.edu

As Educational Measurement and Assessment Specialist, Cynthia Louden develops resources and works with faculty to disseminate information about best practices in classroom assessment for the purpose of enhancing student learning.  She shifted from practitioner as geological oceanographer to educator when she returned to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to earn her Ph.D. in science education. Her dissertation research involved researching the efficacy of various types of assessments and led to a professional specialization in assessments of learning in the STEM fields. Currently, Cyndi’s interests include peer assessment and assessment of critical thinking skills and online learning.

(512) 475-8679FAC 213P

Jody Miller

Student Development Specialist II, Student Testing Advisor & Course Instructor Survey (CIS) Co-Coordinator
jody.miller@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2637 GSB 2.130G

Maria Neis

Student Testing Advisor
maria.neis@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2659 GSB 2.130

Manuel Oliverez

Educational Technology Specialist
manny.oliverez@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-6143 FAC 213U

Megan Parry

OnRamps Coordinator
megan.parry@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-7877 FAC 213N

Mellanie Patterson

Assistant Manager of Student Test Advising
mellanie.patterson@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2653 GSB 2.130A

Gloria Quesada

Associate Director for Vendor Relations
gloria.quesada@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2639 SZB 450G

Christina Raggio

Program Assistant
christinaraggio@utexas.edu
(512) 475-6089 FAC 213K

Lori Ray

Executive Assistant to Harrison Keller
loriray@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 471-3353 Provost Office - MAI 201

Erin D. Reilly

Graduate Research Assistant
erin.reilly@austin.utexas.edu
FAC 213BB

DeCarlos Roberson

Mail Clerk
d.roberson@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-3302 SZB 450U

Jennifer Saenz

Product Manager
jennifer.saenz@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2634 FAC 213

Brian Schwarz

Media Support Technician
brian.schwarz@austin.utexas.edu
FAC 213H

Sejal Shah

Project Manager
sejal@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-3342 FAC 213HH

Nazy Sheikhzadeh

Senior Testing Specialist
n.sheikhzadeh@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-7593 GSB 2.130

Karen Smid

Project Manager
karen.smid@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1771 FAC 213F

Rose Stafford

Graduate Research Assistant
rose.stafford@austin.utexas.edu
FAC 213BB

Julie Stewart

Instructional Specialist
julie.stewart@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2640 FAC 213M
Bio

Julie Stewart

Instructional Specialist

Ph.D

julie.stewart@austin.utexas.edu

As an instructional specialist, Julie works with departments and faculty.  Her professional interest is the development and implementation of learning-centered classroom environments. She has worked in teaching and learning from numerous perspectives: as researcher and assessment specialist here at UT, as program director for curricular and instructional development initiatives at the University of Chicago, as faculty member in curriculum and instruction at Loyola University, as editor of the Harvard Education Review, and as a high school English teacher in Texas. She has an Ed.D. in Teaching and Learning from Harvard University and an MA in English.

(512) 232-2640FAC 213M

Noah Stroehle

Educational Technology Training Specialist
noah@utexas.edu
(512) 232-1770 FAC 213S

Jessie Torrisi

Grants & Contracts Specialist
jessie.torrisi@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 475-7792 SZB 450P

Ken Tothero

Associate Director of Educational Technology
ktothero@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2641 FAC 213GG
Bio

Ken Tothero

Associate Director of Educational Technology

MA

ktothero@austin.utexas.edu

As Associate Director of Educational Technology, Ken is responsible for a portfolio of initiatives that utilize technology to facilitate teaching, learning, collaboration, and assessment. Significant focus areas include the University's Learning Management System (LMS), a growing interest in hybrid and fully online instruction, and efforts related to the creation and delivery of courses via edX. Ken comes to the CTL from the UT College of Education, Learning Technology Center. Prior to that he spent eleven years as a high school physics teacher and another eight developing educational software for a variety of public and private entities. Ken holds Master's degrees in both Instructional Technology and Quantitative Methods from The University of Texas at Austin.

(512) 232-2641FAC 213GG

Emily Wade

Project Manager
eewade@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-1771 FAC 213F

Josh Walker

Instructional Specialist
josh.walker@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-2651 FAC 213D
Bio

Josh Walker

Instructional Specialist

Ph.D

josh.walker@austin.utexas.edu

As an Instructional Specialist, Josh Walker works with faculty to apply the best of what we know about how people learn toward developing and implementing instructional approaches that work.   Josh specializes in designing active and interactive learning environments that help students develop as critical and creative thinkers.  Josh earned a B.A. in both Psychology and Religion from East Texas Baptist University, an M.A. in Educational Psychology focusing on Program Evaluation, as well a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology, focusing on Learning, Cognition, Instruction, and Motivation from The University of Texas at Austin.

(512) 232-2651FAC 213D

Mike Wallace

Product Manager for CTL Website, Instructional Consultant
mike.wallace@austin.utexas.edu
(512) 232-4796 FAC 213C
Bio

Mike Wallace

Product Manager for CTL Website, Instructional Consultant

Ph.D

mike.wallace@austin.utexas.edu

As an Instructional Specialist, Mike serves as a catalyst who brings ideas and people together to explore innovation in teaching and learning.  Mike’s primary professional interest is in flipped and transformed pedagogies where active learning, assessment, technology, and self-regulated learning create learning opportunities for students to deepen their understanding. As a faculty member in science education at Morehead State University, he redesigned his courses.  Mike earned a B.S. in Electrical Engineering, M.S. in Physics, and a Ph.D. in Science Education from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

(512) 232-4796FAC 213C

Kyle Williams

Graduate Research Assistant
kyle.williams@austin.utexas.edu
FAC 213BB